The short answer. The honest answer is that this is not one category. Cursor and Zed are editors built around AI assistance — pick Cursor for the deepest AI integration and Zed if you want open source and native speed. Warp puts the assistance in the terminal, which is where a lot of real work happens. Atomic Agent is the one to choose when the model has to run locally, because it runs open-weight models on your own machine. Claude God and Claude Usage are not editors at all; they are utilities that keep an eye on usage and cost. Decide first whether you want a better editor, a better terminal, or a private agent, and the shortlist picks itself.

This guide covers 17 ai coding tools for macOS. Every fact below is drawn from the same verified records that back each app’s own page. The recommendations are our editorial judgment, not payment. Last verified 2026-10-05.

Quick comparison

App What it is Pricing Licence Version
Agent Teams AI AI coding agent Open source AGPL-3.0 2.17.1
Agenttrace AI coding agent Open source MIT 0.9.1
Atomic Agent AI coding agent Open source MIT 0.6.6
BitFun AI coding agent Open source MIT 1.0.3
CC-Switch AI coding agent utility Open source MIT 3.20.4
cctop AI coding agent utility Open source MIT 0.21.4
Claude God AI coding agent utility Open source MIT 2.24.3
Claude Usage AI coding agent utility Open source MIT 0.4.1
Claude Usage Monitor AI coding agent utility Open source MIT 2.2.1
Claudoscope AI coding agent utility Open source MIT 1.3.0
ClawdHome AI coding agent utility Open source Apache-2.0 1.13.0
clawpypaste AI coding agent utility Open source MIT 0.4.10
CodexBar AI coding agent utility Open source MIT 0.71.1
CodexIsland AI coding agent utility Open source MIT 0.3.0
Cursor code editor Freemium Proprietary 3.23.12
Warp terminal emulator Open source AGPL-3.0 0.2026.09.30.08.29.stable_01
Zed code editor Open source GPL-3.0 1.22.0

What actually decides this

  • Where the model runs. A cloud model sees your code leave your machine; a local model does not. For proprietary or regulated code this is the deciding question, and it is not one the feature list answers for you.
  • What the tool actually is. An editor, a terminal, a command-line agent and a usage monitor are four different products that all describe themselves as AI coding tools. Start from the surface you already work in.
  • What the model can see. Assistance quality depends on context, and context is a disclosure. Whether the tool reads your open file, your whole repository or your recent terminal output decides both how useful the suggestions are and how much leaves your machine.
  • The cost model. Some tools bundle model access into a subscription; others bring your own key and you pay per use. The second is cheaper when you use it lightly and more expensive when you do not, which is worth modelling before you commit.
  • Verification, not generation. The bottleneck in AI-assisted coding is not producing code, it is knowing whether the code is right. The tool that helps you check — diffs, tests, a small change you can read — is worth more than the one that produces the most.

Our picks

  • Cursor — It is an editor with autocomplete, chat and agent features, which makes the AI part of the editing surface rather than a panel beside it. Choose it when you want an editor built around AI assistance and accept a cloud model.
  • Zed — It is a GPU-accelerated editor with real-time collaboration and built-in AI agents, and it is open source, which matters if you want to inspect what it does. Choose it when you want open source, native speed and AI in the same editor.
  • Warp — It is a terminal rebuilt as a modern application, which puts assistance where the commands actually run. Choose it when most of your work happens in the terminal.
  • Atomic Agent — It is a local-first command-line coding agent that runs open-weight models entirely on your machine, with MCP support and built-in tools, so your code does not leave the laptop. Choose it when the model has to run on your own machine.
  • Claude Usage — It keeps context and session usage visible in the menu bar for Claude Code, which is a monitoring job rather than an editing one. Choose it when you use an AI coding assistant heavily and want to see what it is costing.

The apps

Agent Teams AI

Agent Teams AI is an AI coding agent for macOS. Open-source desktop app for coordinating autonomous AI coding agents through team messaging, task boards, and code review. It is released under AGPL-3.0.

What it does. Your AI teams handle tasks on their own, message each other, and review each other’s code.

Agent Teams AI is listed with current version 2.17.1.

Full profile and verified facts for Agent Teams AI →

Agenttrace

Agenttrace is an AI coding agent for macOS. Local-first TUI for inspecting AI coding agent sessions, costs, tokens, latency, tool failures, health, and diffs. It is released under MIT.

What it does. Know what your agents spent, rank slow runs, and explain regressions with local baseline, incident, and tool authority evidence.

Agenttrace is listed with current version 0.9.1.

Full profile and verified facts for Agenttrace →

Atomic Agent

Atomic Agent is an AI coding agent for macOS. Local-first CLI and TUI coding agent that runs open-weight models entirely on your machine, with MCP support and 56 built-in tools. It is released under MIT.

What it does. Atomic Agent is a local-first AI agent. Runs open-weight models on your own machine via llama.cpp.

Atomic Agent is listed with current version 0.6.6.

Full profile and verified facts for Atomic Agent →

BitFun

BitFun is an AI coding agent for macOS. Open-source AI agent that gives each task its own interactive workspace with chat linked to live state. It is released under MIT.

What it does. OpenBitFun is an open Agent system powered by a high-performance Rust Runtime, with cross-device control, composable capabilities, and execution Harness profiles.

BitFun is listed with current version 1.0.3.

Full profile and verified facts for BitFun →

CC-Switch

CC-Switch is an AI coding agent utility for macOS. A cross-platform desktop All-in-One assistant for Claude Code, Codex, OpenCode, and AI coding agents. It is released under MIT.

What it does. Usage Stats: Without local routing, usage is collected from each tool’s local session logs; requests that go through local routing are counted as well. The MCP, Skills, Prompts, and Sessions panels opened from the Claude Desktop page apply to Claude Code.

CC-Switch is listed with current version 3.20.4.

Full profile and verified facts for CC-Switch →

cctop

cctop is an AI coding agent utility for macOS. Open-source menu bar monitor that shows live status for AI coding sessions (Claude Code, Codex, opencode, pi) and jumps to the right terminal pane or editor window. It is released under MIT.

What it does. A keyboard-first macOS menubar app to monitor and jump between AI coding sessions. Works with Claude Code, Claude Desktop, opencode, pi, Codex CLI, and Codex Desktop.

cctop is listed with current version 0.21.4.

Full profile and verified facts for cctop →

Claude God

Claude God is an AI coding agent utility for macOS. Monitor Claude usage, costs, and session stats. It is released under MIT.

What it does. Free macOS menu bar app to monitor Claude AI quotas, costs, rate limits, and session history in real time. Works with Pro, Max & Team — no API key needed. Open source.

Claude God is listed with current version 2.24.3.

Full profile and verified facts for Claude God →

Claude Usage

Claude Usage is an AI coding agent utility for macOS. Menu bar app for Claude Code that keeps per-pane context (in the status line) and session/weekly usage always visible — no usage or context command to run. It is released under MIT.

What it does. Current session (5‑hour), current week (all models and Sonnet only), and usage credits —. Context in the status line: a one‑line readout under your Claude Code prompt — model,. Menu‑bar number for the window of your choice, with traffic‑light colors. Selectable icon and refresh interval (30s / 1m / 5m); settings and the last report.

Claude Usage is listed with current version 0.4.1.

Full profile and verified facts for Claude Usage →

Claude Usage Monitor

Claude Usage Monitor is an AI coding agent utility for macOS. Track Claude usage with a live counter. It is released under MIT.

What it does. Menu-bar only — no Dock icon, stays out of your way. Burn rate display — menu bar shows estimated time left (~45min left | 42%) based on actual usage pace; falls back to percentage when idle. Colour-coded icon — green → orange → red as usage climbs. Multi-bar dashboard — separate horizontal bars for Current session, Weekly limits (all models), Sonnet-specific usage (Max plan), and Claude Design usage.

Claude Usage Monitor is listed with current version 2.2.1.

Full profile and verified facts for Claude Usage Monitor →

Claudoscope

Claudoscope is an AI coding agent utility for macOS. Tool for browsing and analyzing Claude Code sessions. It is released under MIT.

Claudoscope is listed with current version 1.3.0.

Full profile and verified facts for Claudoscope →

ClawdHome

ClawdHome is an AI coding agent utility for macOS. Manage multiple isolated OpenClaw gateway instances from one control panel. It is released under Apache-2.0.

What it does. ClawdHome is an all-in-one multi-user manager for macOS, designed to run and isolate your OpenClaw instances for you and your family.

ClawdHome is listed with current version 1.13.0.

Full profile and verified facts for ClawdHome →

clawpypaste

clawpypaste is an AI coding agent utility for macOS. Menu bar block picker and session browser for Claude Code. It is released under MIT.

clawpypaste is listed with current version 0.4.10.

Full profile and verified facts for clawpypaste →

CodexBar

CodexBar is an AI coding agent utility for macOS. Show usage stats for OpenAI Codex and Claude Code, without having to login. It is released under MIT.

What it does. Track usage windows, credits, and resets across 90 AI coding providers from your macOS menu bar.

CodexBar is listed with current version 0.71.1.

Full profile and verified facts for CodexBar →

CodexIsland

CodexIsland is an AI coding agent utility for macOS. Turns the MacBook notch into a Dynamic Island-style live activity for Claude Code and Codex CLI rate limits and spend, computed locally with no telemetry. It is released under MIT.

What it does. CodexIsland - AI usage limits in your MacBook notch.

CodexIsland is listed with current version 0.3.0.

Full profile and verified facts for CodexIsland →

Cursor

Cursor is a code editor for macOS. AI code editor with autocomplete, chat, and coding agent features. It is released under Proprietary. It is freemium.

Strengths. Runs in the terminal and integrates with Slack and GitHub, not only as a desktop editor. According to the developer, lets you choose the model per task from OpenAI, Anthropic and Google alongside Cursor’s own Composer models. The Hobby tier is free and requires no credit card.

Trade-offs. Past the free tier it is a subscription — Individual is $20 per month and Teams is $40 per user per month — and the free Hobby tier caps Agent requests. It is proprietary and distributed as a fork of Visual Studio Code, so its extension and settings compatibility is inherited from that upstream rather than independently designed. Cursor is proprietary and closed source. The minimum macOS version is not stated in the sources Nuanyue tracks.

Not for. Windows or Linux desktop users — the platform recorded for Cursor is macOS. Developers who need an open-source editor — Cursor is proprietary and closed source. Anyone wanting to avoid a recurring cost — past the free Hobby tier it is a per-user subscription.

What it does. AI agent that plans and writes changes across a codebase. Inline autocomplete and Cmd+K targeted edits. Cloud agents that run in parallel and continue while the laptop is closed. Choice of frontier models from OpenAI, Anthropic, Google and Cursor’s own Composer.

Cursor is listed with current version 3.23.12.

Full profile and verified facts for Cursor →

Warp

Warp is a terminal emulator for macOS. Warp is a blazingly fast, rust-based terminal reimagined from the ground up to work like a modern app. It is released under AGPL-3.0.

Strengths. The client is open source under AGPL v3 and can be built from the public repository with cargo run. Supported on Intel and Apple silicon macOS, Windows and Linux. The free tier includes the core terminal — Blocks, the input editor, autosuggestions and completions — without requiring AI usage.

Trade-offs. AI features are credit-based; paid plans start at $20 per month, and free-tier agent usage is limited to purchased credits or bringing your own inference. The open-source claim covers the client only — Warp’s server remains closed source, and the public repository is used mainly for issues and bug reports. macOS 10.14 or above is required, along with Metal-capable hardware. Self-built warp-oss binaries use a separate config directory and do not auto-update.

Not for. People who want a plain, fully open-source shell — Warp’s server side is closed source. Anyone who wants to avoid accounts and cloud services — the AI and cloud features depend on Warp’s services. Users who want to avoid credit-metered AI — paid plans start at $20 per month.

What it does. Blocks group each command with its output so you can copy, search and filter them independently. A real text editor for input, with multi-line editing and click-to-place cursor. Autosuggestions from shell history and enhanced tab completions beyond what the shell offers. A built-in agent, plus support for third-party CLI agents like Claude Code and Codex.

Warp is listed with current version 0.2026.09.30.08.29.stable_01.

Full profile and verified facts for Warp →

Zed

Zed is a code editor for macOS. GPU-accelerated, Rust-written code editor with real-time multiplayer collaboration and built-in AI agents. It is released under GPL-3.0.

Strengths. According to the developer, written from scratch in Rust and GPU-accelerated, which is the basis of its speed claims. According to the developer, supports real-time multiplayer editing and remote development in the same editor. Can run with the user’s own API keys or external agents instead of a Zed-hosted plan.

Trade-offs. The free Personal plan caps accepted edit predictions at 2,000; unlimited predictions require Pro. Pro bills usage-based beyond the included $5 of tokens, at API list price plus 10%. Business admin features such as SSO, SAML and SCIM are stated as planned, not available. AI plans are billed on top of the editor, with usage-based billing beyond the included credits on Pro. Apple Silicon support is not stated in the sources Nuanyue tracks.

Not for. Anyone who needs the AI features without paying — edit prediction is limited to 2,000 accepted predictions on the free plan. Users who want a large extension marketplace — Zed relies on LSP and a smaller extension set instead.

What it does. Written in Rust and GPU-rendered, for low typing latency and fast startup. Real-time multiplayer: edit the same project with other people, with shared screens. Remote development, where the code runs on a server and the Mac runs only the UI. Agentic editing with parallel AI agents, plus an inline assistant.

Zed is listed with current version 1.22.0.

Full profile and verified facts for Zed →

How to choose

Open source: Agent Teams AI, Agenttrace, Atomic Agent, BitFun, CC-Switch, cctop, Claude God, Claude Usage, Claude Usage Monitor, Claudoscope, ClawdHome, clawpypaste, CodexBar, CodexIsland, Warp and Zed (16 of 17).

Common mistakes

  • Sending proprietary code to a cloud model without checking the data policy. The tool will do it happily; the decision is yours to make deliberately.
  • Assuming the assistant understands your whole project when it has only seen the open file. Most of the disappointing answers come from missing context, not a weak model.
  • Treating generated code as reviewed code. It compiles and looks plausible is not the same as it is correct, and the reviewing is the part that did not get faster.
  • Collecting tools instead of improving how you prompt and verify. The tooling is converging; the skill is in the loop around it.

How this guide was put together

Each app’s facts come from its own record: the developer’s own pages and repository, the App Store listing where one exists, and the documentation, each with a source grade and an access date. Where a fact rests on the developer’s own statement rather than on something we verified independently, the sentence says so. Where our data has no value for something, the guide says “not published” instead of guessing.

A price appears here only where the record carries one from a stated source; the guide never estimates one, and it records the pricing model alongside so the two can be read together. Prices change and vary by region, so each app links to its own page for the current detail.

The facts and the recommendations are kept apart on purpose. Everything in the app entries, the comparison table and the answers above is composed from the records. The short answer, the criteria and the picks are our editorial judgment: they reflect what we would choose and why, and they are not paid for. Where we make a recommendation we name the condition it applies under, because we do not call anything “the best” without explaining the criteria.

Verified 2026-10-05.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I choose between these ai coding tools?

There is no single answer — it depends on what you need. This guide covers 17 ai coding tools: Agent Teams AI, Agenttrace, Atomic Agent, BitFun, CC-Switch, cctop, Claude God, Claude Usage, Claude Usage Monitor, Claudoscope, ClawdHome, clawpypaste, CodexBar, CodexIsland, Cursor, Warp and Zed. They differ mainly in pricing model, licence and the trade-offs each one carries. Pick by the trade-off you care about rather than by rank.

Are these ai coding tools free?

Pricing across this group: open source (Agent Teams AI, Agenttrace, Atomic Agent, BitFun, CC-Switch, cctop, Claude God, Claude Usage, Claude Usage Monitor, Claudoscope, ClawdHome, clawpypaste, CodexBar, CodexIsland, Warp and Zed) and freemium (Cursor). We quote a price only where the record carries one from a stated source, and we never estimate one. Prices change and vary by region and by store, so always check the developer’s own page for the current figure.

Which of these ai coding tools are open source?

Agent Teams AI (AGPL-3.0), Agenttrace (MIT), Atomic Agent (MIT), BitFun (MIT), CC-Switch (MIT), cctop (MIT), Claude God (MIT), Claude Usage (MIT), Claude Usage Monitor (MIT), Claudoscope (MIT), ClawdHome (Apache-2.0), clawpypaste (MIT), CodexBar (MIT), CodexIsland (MIT), Warp (AGPL-3.0) and Zed (GPL-3.0) are open source.

Do these ai coding tools support Apple Silicon?

Apple Silicon support is explicitly stated for Cursor and Warp. For the others our data does not carry an explicit statement either way, so we do not infer one.

How do I choose between them?

Start with how you pay: the guide groups these apps by pricing model, because the budget is the constraint most people actually have. Then check the trade-offs listed for each app: the limitations are the part that decides most people’s choice, because they describe what the app will not do for you.

Who should not use these apps?

Cursor, Warp and Zed each list an audience they are explicitly not aimed at. Those notes come from the same verified records as the rest of this guide, and they are worth reading before you install anything.

When was this data last verified?

The facts in this guide were last confirmed on 2026-10-05. Every app page carries its own verification dates and source list, so you can check any individual claim.